Dad

meandadfrost

My belated Father’s Day 

Father’s Day has come and gone
and like a breeze you carry on
leaving bits and traces of
all that you ever were.

The glue that kept us in tack
I wish over you’d come back
and even now these words lack
the something of what you were.

You always were simply wonderful.
A joy to be around. Your smile
it was beautiful and your spirit
always was heaven bound.

From an early age, I looked up to you.
The years made us change. I stood.
Still. I looked up to you. You were
the epitome of brave.

Your character clean as a whistle
made you a prince charming. I
was daddy’s girl, spoiled brat
ungrateful some might say.

Believe me I want to take it back.
A do over please. Let me,
just one day to explain, everything.
And all you ever meant to me.

,

 

 

 

 

Shedhippie on  Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Google | Pinterest
Willowbeithe ~‘The Willow Tree and the Birch (beithe) Charcoal and Paper to Inspire and Create for Writing and Poetry

3 thoughts on “Dad”

Leave a Reply

