Writings

I write because…

file0002113684817

 

I write because there is an emptiness inside of me and it leads to the darkest void ever thought possible. It is a pit. A place for what my imagination creates. Sometimes it is full up and I can live on that alone for days, weeks possibly months. Then other times it is a vessel waiting, calling and urging me to hurry with all that I need to say. At those times it feels as though I have plenty that has never been said. So, I write.

“I don’t know why I started writing. I don’t know why anybody does it. Maybe they’re bored, or failures at something else.” – Cormac McCarthy

Thank goodness for the failures at something else and that writers choose to write! When I read what another writer writes, it often times stimulates, inspires and motivates me. Words can make me cry, laugh and sometimes take the deepest breath that I need to have.

Words are the most incredible little things that I have ever come across and what words create when a writer writes is something like fuel given to nurture and energize the spirit.

I want to do that!

So, I write.

 

Writing 101-  Day 1

Today, tell us: why do you write? If you’d like to see how others have approached this, here are 23 inspiring quotes from famous authors. TheI Write Because project is also worth a peek and is full of personal, honest submissions.

Set a timer and free-write for 15 or 30 minutes without stopping. Begin your post with “I write because . . . ” or start it any other way you wish.


 

Credit:
Photo writing on the wall by DMedina
Typewriter by clarita

1 thought on “I write because…”

Leave a Reply

