Poetry

My Halloween Night

 

file000341785844

Halloween was finally here.
My friend and I decided not.
We were too old this year.
Our thing, we’re more into rot.

Our plan was to hang out
At the Saint Ives Cemetery.
It was the perfect spot.
Dark, bleak and dreary.

Mid-way through the town.
Any way a goblin walked.
They would walk right by
The yard with the grave plots.

Street lamps lite the gate quite well.
The glow gave an eerie feel.
Further inside, darker than before,
Until standing at the mausoleum door.

We were there to play tricks on the un-expecting.
Neither of us thought We’d be the un-suspecting.

 

THUMP! THUMP! On the door.
THUMP! THUMP! Can’t take no more.
THUMP! THUMP! It hurts my head.
THUMP! THUMP! Isn’t it DEAD?

Why did I come here I do not know.
My friend, he did insist.
Now the night is so frightful,
With this banging, as it repeats.

The stone door, it is so cold.
A place for only the dead.
But something from the other side
is banging, causing dread.

The grass is wet and dark,
From here it looks to be black.
The stones that bear their names,
Of those that should not come back.

THUMP! THUMP! A sound I don’t want to hear!
THUMP! THUMP! The clouds go rolling by.
THUMP! THUMP! Day break is not even near!
THUMP! THUMP! I think I will sit and cry.

What was the plan? I try to recall.
When I came here I had a clue.
But now I am here all alone,
I do not know what to do.

I want to run but can not move,
I wonder where he has gone.
My friend you see has disappeared,
Left me scared and alone.

The thought now did occur to me…
That maybe the banging, it was he?
I would have to open that door
For myself to see.

THUMP! THUMP! I get closer to the quake.
THUMP! THUMP! My mind is only thinking gore.
THUMP! THUMP! My hands tremble and shake…
THUMP! THUMP! I open the cold heavy door.

My friend, he is there and he yells loud at me.
“WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN? WHY NOT SET ME FREE?”
“Could you not hear… it was all quite compelling?”
I looked at him and screamed “STOP YOUR YELLING!”

Another sound had started once more.
Again, a banging on that concrete door.
What was it now, not us for sure.
We both stood here and accounted for.

My friend and I looked at each other.
What to do now, we were not sure.
What ever it was, was not us,
On the other side of that door

THUMP! THUMP! We could not breath.
THUMP! THUMP! Was the only sound.
THUMP! THUMP! We had to leave.
THUMP! THUMP! Death was all around.

Like a walker over hot coals…
I thought, I would be brave.
Open the door just to see…
Maybe coax back into it’s grave.

As my hand touched to the cold,
The sound was still and quiet.
My heart beat hard in my chest,
And I just could not do it.

I pushed my friend, we started to run
And ran we did, all the way home.
He to his, I to mine, safe we did recover.
Snug in bed, waiting for, Halloween to be over.

THUMP! THUMP!
The sound repeats…steady, cold and true.

THUMP! THUMP!
The dead awake to walk free, waiting there for you.

THUMP! THUMP!
A night for death and life to commence, to gather and to mingle.

THUMP! THUMP!
It is true, that chill you feel, and down your spine the tingle.


Inspired by The Domestic Witch 2015 Halloween Party
http://www.thedomesticwitch.org/2015/10/2015-halloween-party-info-and-sign-ups.html


Prompt Stomp Week 3
https://themomhood.wordpress.com/2015/10/17/prompt-stomp-week-3/
Souls. Spooky. Spirit.

Credit:
Feature Photo (jack-o-lanterns) GaborfromHungary
Post Photo (trick or treat) cohdra

4 thoughts on “My Halloween Night”

  1. This is a great entry for the Stomp.
    I apologize greatly if I missed adding you into the comments, your entry ended up in my spam folder for some reason. So I apologize. It is now in the comments so everyone can see it!
    Again this, is wonderful poetry for the stomp. Thank You for playing along! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I should not be reading this before bed. I could you and your friend running and I heard the loud thumping in my head. I like how your poem flowed like a story though. Who or what was the culprit of the thumping?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

