Poetry

Pleasure, Sonnet, Apostrophe Day 10

unnamed

 

Life like a ride, ticket at the door.
When it’s her turn, it’s single file.
Standing in line, an hour or more.
Insides churn, excited all the while.

Closed gates, the gears get stuck.
She waits, for what felt like forever.
Music played and she was out of luck.
Until the end..someone pulled the lever.

When sparks flew everything moved.
From one side to the other.
The gate unlocked and she knew
that her ride was over.

Tears won’t change it, time please be kind.
She’s still standing, fair closes at nine.

ornbaryel

Writing 201 Poetry is coming to a close and I am sorry to see that it is over. Where did this week go?

Each day brought to my mailbox a new writing prompt and I looked forward to putting something together. It was never clear if I had really followed the directions correctly. I am still not sure if I know how to properly write poetry. What I do know, it was a wonderful time and a lot of my time was spent simply writing. What I did write came from the heart and I’m glad to have participated.

Earlier this week, aunt Eve passed away. Emotion is usually a wonderful conductor for poetry. Even so, it did not feel that way for me. This week has been strange and my words might not be the words that others would expect to hear at a time of loss.

The fair was always a big deal when I was a kid. My mom, aunts and cousins would all go together. Good times.  That is what I think of the most when I think of aunt Eve and she made the best rock candy.

I missed some of the prompts on time and will try to continue to finish them (maybe post them back dated).

This, the last assignment of Writing 201: Poetry

Today write
“From the tantalizing to the satisfyingly sober, have your poems convey a sense of pleasure today. (Or, if you wish to keep it dark anyway, write about the lack of or longing for that sort of feeling.)”
Today’s form: sonnet
Today’s device: apostrophe

Credit: 
Featured Photo (weeping willow) by can131
Post Photo (fair ride) by Stig Nygaard

 

5 thoughts on “Pleasure, Sonnet, Apostrophe Day 10”

  1. The photos, all the photos here, are appealing and impressive. I’m sorry to hear of the dying of your aunt. You are brave for writing about memories involving her so soon. The fair is a delightful setting and symbol. I especially enjoy the stanza once the lever is thrown:

    When sparks flew everything moved.
    From one side to the other.
    The gate unlocked and she knew
    that her ride was over.

    The diction and rhyme work well here. The realizing that the ride is over reminds me of “Araby,” a story by James Joyce.

    Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your comment.It makes me feel good about writing that poem. When I first saw that pic come through the email, it made me think of the fair. I was also thinking about my aunt’s passing and wanted to find a way to put my feelings into words, together. Most of my photos are found at Morguefiles but once in awhile I take one of my own. I will look at that story 🙂 Again, thank you for your visit and comment, this is very much appreciated.

      Like

Leave a Reply

